Criminal Defense: Reckless Driving
Reckless Driving is a gross misdemeanor crime in Washington State, it carries a maximum penalty of 365 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. The elements of a Reckless Driving charges involve the driving of a vehicle with the willful and wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. A person who is convicted of Reckless Driving in the State of Washington will likely have their driver’s license suspended for 30 days by the Department of Licensing. If such a suspension is imposed, the driver will need to purchase SR-22 insurance (high risk driving insurance) for a three year period. A DUI charge can sometimes be negotiated and amended to a Reckless Driving charge. However, a DUI charge that has been amended to a Reckless Driving charge can be considered a prior DUI for sentencing purposes.
If you have been charged with a criminal offense, please talk to an experienced criminal defense lawyer about your case and possible defense.
Having a criminal defense attorney represent you is important, as they can fully understand the elements of the charge, the burden of proof for the prosecutor, whether to have an judge or jury trial, how to present a trial, and alternatives to trial. A criminal defense attorney cannot guarantee results, but can properly walk you through this complicated process.
Please contact one of our experienced criminal defense attorneys to discuss you possible criminal misdemeanor charges. You can contact us at 425-255-4542 or visit our other criminal defense articles on our web page. Our firm is available to assist you in your legal needs.